When creating a task via the Log An Activity process on the Customer Screen, and when you have selected related transactions, the task can be set to be completed automatically.
Enabling the 'Auto-complete this task' option when creating a task means the task will be automatically completed when all related transactions are fully allocated.
This means that your To Do area can be decluttered as the tasks that have transactions that are fully paid off can be cleared for you as they no longer need to be actioned.
Note: The 'Auto-complete this task' option is disabled when either already fully allocated transactions are selected or when balance reducing transactions like receipts or credit notes are selected by themselves without an invoice (this would result in the total outstanding amount of the transactions selected as being less than or equal to 0.00)
If you select no transactions when logging an activity, the 'Auto-complete this task' option will be hidden from selection. This is because the task itself would have no related transactions that need to be fully paid.